Interim Federal Health Program Cuts

The Uninsured Patient Task Force (UPTF) is comprised of bioethicists and healthcare providers with ethics training and affiliation with the University of Toronto, Joint Centre for Bioethics (JCB). Members of the UPTF have significant experience consulting on uninsured patient cases, developing policy at healthcare delivery organizations or providing healthcare to uninsured patients. The UPTF was established in partnership with the uninsured subcommittee of the Toronto Central Local Health Integration Network’s (TC LHIN) Collaborative on Marginalized Patients.


Uninsured Patient Task Force (UPTF) Materials:

The UPTF was initiated in June 2012 to develop an uninsured patient ethics-based model policy for healthcare providers and institutions within the TC LHIN. However, the task force decided to first address the recently announced cuts to the Interim Federal Health Program (IFHP) which took effect on June 30, 2012. On Aug. 6, 2012, the UPTF issued an ethics policy brief which sought to broadly outline the ethical issues related to the new legislative parameters for the IFHP and provide ethics-based guidance to facilitate fair and transparent decision-making for Ontario’s policy makers, healthcare professional bodies, associations, organizations and providers regarding access to care decisions for IFHP beneficiaries.


UPTF members include: Sally Bean, (chair) Sunnybrook Health Sciences Centre & JCB, Carrie Bernard, William Osler Hospital, McMaster University & JCB, Eoin Connolly, The Credit Valley Hospital and Trillium Health Centre & JCB, Jennifer Gibson, JCB, Hannah Kaufman, University Health Network & JCB, Bob Parke, Humber River Regional Hospital & JCB, Michael Szego, Centre for Clinical Ethics (a joint venture between St. Joseph’s Health Centre, St. Michael’s Hospital, and Providence Healthcare) & JCB, Julie Toole, Association of Ontario Midwives & JCB, Frank Wagner, Toronto Central Community Care Access Centre & JCB, Irene Ying, JCB.